Two former quarries that are now Sites of Scientific Special Interest
Magdalen Quarry (formerly known as the Workhouse and the Corporation Pit)
Tthis is situated just to the west of Gladstone Road, off Willilam Kimber Crescent.
Rock Edge (formerly known as Crossroads Pit or Windmill Pit)
This is situated at the south-east corner of Windmill Road
Other pits and quarries
Blondin or Munt's Pit
On the site of Quarry Hollow and the adjacent play park
Clayhills Pit, also known as St Ebba's Pit
On the corner of Quarry Road and Old Road, now the site of Stansfeld Centre,
Saccy's Pit or Horwood's Pit
On the site of the present Beaumont Alley
This was opposite the vicarage in Quarry Road
Brief list of some other quarries
Jack Phillips's Pit
This was on the corner of Green Road and Quarry High Street, as shown on the 1921 map (right)
This was to the west of the present Gladstone Road, to the south of the Magdalen Pit. It was closed in the 1880s. Stone in Archaeology Database: Coppock's Quarry
This was behind the Mason's Arms, and was the largest and most enduring of the Quarry pits.
Greening's Pit, later known as Gale's Pit, was worked by
a gang from Quarry, but was actually situated in Cowley.